Choosing Joy

196 197 198May 24, 2014

Today started out so hard. I just didn’t want to do anything. But I wanted to want to do things, so that’s good. Bella and I attended a wedding. It took a lot of effort, and for quite a while even once we were there, I just felt like crying. But going through the motions proved helpful and eventually I found myself almost happy. I suppose sometimes we just have to choose joy, even if we don’t feel like it. It was good to be out in the fresh air, watching children and families and a beautiful couple making their promises to one another and to God. There was hope. And love. And joy. And happiness. While I’m sure I wasn’t the most enthusiastic of guests, I truly appreciated the opportunity to submerse myself into something good. Watching Bella play with the other children, talking with some people who already knew about Eleanor Holmes Norton, and choosing to be there for someone I really love on her big day… it was worth it. I’m tired. But I’m not so sad as I was this morning. And I did two things I’ve never done at a wedding before: I cried, and I caught the bouquet. (I wasn’t even standing in the group, I was just quietly sitting at a table nearby… I swear she aimed for me, but she denies it!)

Thank You Lord for joy…
Susan Hines’s photo.
Susan Hines’s photo.
Susan Hines’s photo.
Like · · Share

Saria Fox, Patricia Kleen Billadeau, Ashley Sniffen and 28 others like this.
Susan Hines Grrr… I don’t know what made that other Eleanor name come up. Sorry.
May 24, 2014 at 9:37pm · Like
Misty Morris It happens it will spell out your word sometimes while you type out them it happens to me all the time you ca hit edit & it will let you fix that LOVES glad you had a better day
May 24, 2014 at 9:53pm · Like
Sandy Benson-Johnson Ah….. Grief is soooo like a mountain stream, eh? Never ending…. Sometimes tricking over the rocks, other times whooshing like a fall, meandering here, turning there…. You are not alone my sweet. We are all lifting you up in prayer. No need to be strong. He’s got chya .
Xoxo
May 24, 2014 at 10:40pm · Like · 1
Terri Wilson Austin Glad you chose JOY (Jesus & Others & Y-o-u)!
May 25, 2014 at 3:35am · Like · 1
Jennifer Ricker Keep existing each day and although there is grief you will find that each day there is a little more joy ! Hugs and kisses to you and Bella. Love you!
May 25, 2014 at 4:02am · Like

Leave a Reply

